h1

Our final two ports of call – Cozumel, Mexico and Key West, Florida

February 26, 2009

Thursday, January 29th – Cozumel, Mexico

Ahhh, Cozumel!  No crazy excursion at this port, just a relaxing day on a catamaran snorkeling and enjoying the sun.  Raising the sail (and starting the engine), the cat scooted across the crystal clear water taking us to our snorkeling location.

Cruising

Unfortunately, I’ve never taken up underwater photography, although I’ve thought about it many times.  As a former avid scuba diver, I hope I can one day take my love of photography and combine it with my love of the oceans and diving.  We’ll see.  Underwater housings and lights are not cheap!

After snorkeling, we spent the rest of the day at the beach, enjoying the sun.  I’ll keep this text short and just show some of the photos I took that day.

Horses by the Beach

XX

Palm

It was a beautiful day to hang out on the beach and relax…

Saturday, January 31st – Key West, Florida

Early in the morning of Friday the 30th, we got a nice little surprise.  Due to a cold weather front cutting across the United States and part of the Caribbean cutting temperatures dramatically, our captain decided to change our last port of call.  Previously, we were scheduled to spend the day on the cruise line’s private island on the beach.  Since cold and beach don’t go well together, the captain changed our itinerary and turned towards Key West, Florida.  I think the whole ship was happy!

I’ve had the opportunity to spend a number of vacations in Key West.  The keys and especially Key West are some of my favorite places in the country.  Cold or not, I was looking forward to spending the day in Key West.

Duval

We arrived early on Saturday and, after clearing customs, went looking for a sweatshirt.  It was chilly!  Jen and I spent the day roaming around the town looking to capture some images.  There are some odd and interesting things to photograph as you walk down Duval Street.

Butler

If you’re ever in Key West stop by The Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory.  This was one of the nicest butterfly display and conservatory I’ve ever been to.  You’ll be covered with butterflies and it’s a great place to photograph them.

Butterfly

The day was fantastic and a great way to spend our last full day of the cruise.  I’ll close with a few more of the images I took that day.  I hope you’ve enjoyed my journey!

Stork

Tropical House

3 comments

  1. Rob, that first shot of the foot on the wheel is really a great shot…

    M


  2. Hi Robert! I have the fortune to live in Cozumel island for the last 8 years and here i found the perfect way to relax and exercise at the same time by doing snorkeling. A couple of friends of mine run Duende Tours, http://onejungle.com/adventure-community/adventure-travel-blog/Going-Diving-and-Snorlkeling-to-Cozumel.html, an ecoturism travel agency and they inspired me to get into the sonrkel world, i have no words to describe the peaceful i feel when i see all that life underwater, i´m seriously thinking on buy a housing for mi camera and share all the beauty you can see when you plan your next vacation to this amazing place.


  3. Ditto on the Key West Butterfly Conservatory. I only could spend about 30 minutes there, but took photos at least every minute with amazingly good results. Most of the flying beauties posed for me as they were settled in their favorite late afternoon spots shortly before closing time.



Leave a Reply

