h1

Welcome Inside Aperture listeners…

November 18, 2008

Today, Derrick Story released the Inside Aperture podcast where he interviewed Cathy Chung and me about the Aperture Nature Photography Workshop and our thoughts on Aperture.  Believe it or not, I haven’t listened yet (it just finished downloading), but I wanted to get a post up to welcome folks should they arrive at this site.  If you’ve been reading this blog, you’ll know I’m a HUGE fan of Aperture and many of the plug ins.  It’s changed the way I work greatly improving my speed to process images and the final output.

Last evening, I gave a presentation to my local photography club titled, The War On Photography.  This could certainly have been a polarizing discussion, but, thanks to the great folks at the club, became a very interesting one.  To summarize – in the years following 9/11 people view photography in a different way.  Influenced by a national cry of vigilance, people started seeing terrorists whenever they saw big lenses and “professional-looking” cameras.  As photographers, we found ourselves debating our right to shoot bridges, architecture, malls, etc.  Too many stories involving security guards, police and the public reacting in a negative way to photography consistently appeared on the internet and in the news.  Is our right to freedom of speech being taken away?

From my research (and I’m no lawyer and not attempting to provide legal advice) it appears that our rights are firmly intact, although education (or reeducation) is needed.  To summarize the US law regarding photography (as I understand it) is as follows:

You are allowed to photograph anything with the following exceptions:

  • Certain military installations or operations
  • People who have a reasonable expectation of privacy.  That is, people who are some place that’s not easily visible to the general public

Now, I’m not going to debate this law as I’m simply not an expert.  I do want to point out that, while we may have the right to do something, should we?  You are allowed to photograph children playing in a public playground.  You can photograph accident scenes, fires and other disasters.  Would I?  I guess it depends.  Certainly, I wouldn’t photograph children unless I asked the parent first.  That’s my personal opinion from having two little children.  I probably would photograph, in some way, accidents, fires, police scenes, etc.  It’s an interesting topic.

Finally, the new website will be up later today at www.RobertTruemanPhotography.com (currently pointing to this blog).  If you’re getting to this blog from that address, you’ll first be taken to the new site and need to follow the Blog link.  I’m really excited to get this going.  The site will focus on fine art prints and scheduling appointments for photo assignments.  Hopefully, this is the beginning of something good!

As always, I look forward to your comments!

Leave a Reply

