h1

In NYC – at last…

October 23, 2008

I’m in NYC for the yearly PhotoPlus Expo (formerly Photo East).  This event is the largest photo show in the country that caters to both the end users and manufacturers.  There are hundred of vendors/manufacturers to visits, products to see and people to meet.  This is my third year and something I’ve looked forward to since my last trip.  If you get the chance, go.  It’s worth it.

Tomorrow, the first day of the show, I’m meeting with Derrick Story of Inside Aperture.  It’s a great website/podcast talking about all things Aperture.  There are many folks that post so you get all kinds of input.  I’m excited to be interviewed about my experience with my transition to Aperture from my previous work flow.  I’ll post more after the interview tomorrow.

A quick note, I received a cold call to do some head shots for a young man, Will, performing at the Apollo Theater in Harlem.  This isn’t the TV show, but one of the amateur nights.  Pretty cool, though!  I went to his parents house and took a number of shots before running up to NYC.  I’m looking forward to the prints and working with him again.

Also, I finally got some cards printed.  It took me forever, but I wanted to have something to hand to folks while I’m at the show.  Of course, I waited to the last minute and ran to Kinkos to get them made.  Admittedly, they’re not the best, but I’m excited to get them done.  I’m sure I’ll meet someone at the show doing great looking card and I’ll be back at the drawing board before I know it.

For now, I need to sleep.  It’s going to be a long day.  Hey, if there’s something you want me to check, let me know in the comments and I’ll try to post about it.  Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

