h1

The Aperture Nature Photography Workshops (ANPW)…

September 16, 2008

If you haven’t listened to the podcast or read the blog This Week in Photography you’re missing out on great photography information.  Scott Bourne, Alex Lindsay, Steve Simon, Ron Brinkmann, Fred Johnson, et al produce this fantastic photography podcast each week.  In between podcasts, there are articles, contests and polls galore to keep you coming back to the site day after day.

It was during one episode of TWIP that I first heard of the Aperture Nature Photography Workshops (ANPW for short) contests.  Simply, four pros would team up with four amateur contest winners to shoot in one of four national parks.  The first contest was for a trip to Grand Tetons National Park.  The next three are Yosemite, Yellowstone and Olympic.  To enter you post a picture showing nature in all her glory – landscapes, wildlife, macro, anything that represented nature.  Judges would pick the top four pictures and, if selected, the photogs were off to the Tetons!  Oh, yeah, there are a lot of great prizes too!

Seeing that I’d been in the Tetons the year before I selected the only photo that is selling on my iStockPhoto page:

Reflection of Mt. Moran in the Snake River at Oxbow Bend in the Grand Tetons National Park

Reflection of Mt. Moran in the Snake River at Oxbow Bend in the Grand Tetons National Park

Whether talent or luck (I’m betting luck!) my photo was selected as one of the four winners.  Needless to say, I’m honored to have been picked out of so many fantastic entries.  Seriously, go look through some of these shots.  They’re fantastic.

So, I’m getting ready to head to Jackson Hole, WY on the 24th.  Words can’t describe how much I’m looking forward to this trip and meeting some of the people I read about or listen to each week.  I have the pleasure of meeting Scott Bourne, Martin Gisborne, Steve Simon and Scott Stulberg.  If you don’t know the names, look at their work (sorry, Martin!  I’m looking for a link!).  It’s truly inspirational photography.  Also, Lisa Bettany a stunningly beautiful blogger, photographer, writer, actress and model will be documenting the trip.  I am truly excited about this upcoming adventure.  Stay tuned… there’s more of this to come!

3 comments

  1. I look forward to meeting you as well. Should be a life-changing experience!


  2. Congratulations Rob! I look forward to seeing your shots when you get back. Your hard work has really paid off. Great job!


  3. I would like to use your Teton panorama for a month or so on the homepage of aa-wyoming.org. Dave C



Leave a Reply

